Aha Fitness

Discover Your Power!

I wrote this on purpose

on February 22, 2013

This week I had a medical procedure that gave me just enough recovery time to contemplate on life.  As I lay in bed, thankful to have survived surgery, I reflected on how much of my life I was living and how much of my life I was really living.  I think all of us can get caught up in the routine of life, going about the motions, and not paying much attention to what we are doing and why we are doing it.  There’s a popular Christian book called, The Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren, and while I like to think I am following my purpose in life, I must admit there are some areas that are passing for productive, but not necessarily helping me achieve my highest purpose.

Now, I want you to know that I believe in my heart Aha Fitness is part of my bigger purpose.  One of my life missions is to help people take better care of themselves, and I know I can do that through helping people discover their own power.  It might just look like push-ups and sweet potatoes, but trust me, fitness gives people power.  It is just the beginning!

I want to be honest on this blog; however, and I admit there are other areas of my life that I am not living so much on purpose.  My intentions are good, but I am staying in a position which holds me back from fully giving all I can towards my purpose.  And why do I stay.  F-E-A-R.

You see, fear is what holds so many of us back from living on purpose.  I can’t tell you how many of my clients have a goal of achieving a number on the scale or a performance marker, and whether they know it or not, it is their fear of success that keeps them from achieving their goal.  We know that if all of our actions are driven with purpose, we will meet our goals, yet somehow the fear of success prevents us from taking such direct action.  Take for example, my client who desperately wants to lose the rest of her weight but eats the bag of potato chips.  If you think it is just because she likes the taste of potato chips, you are mistaken.  In that moment, she didn’t forget her purpose.  She denied herself of moving towards her purpose, because she was afraid.  Of being attractive?  Of not having “being overweight” as an excuse?  Of what it doesn’t matter, the point is her potato chip-eating moved her away from her purpose and made her feel bad because we always feel bad when we are not living our lives on purpose.

So where does this fear come from?  If we start to live on purpose, we will have to let go of the excuses, we will have to stop putting off all those things we are putting off until we reach our goal.  We will have to start actually living.  It no longer is just about wishing, praying, manifesting, visualizing.  We will be actually living on purpose.

And that my friends, is where I am.  It is time to take Aha Fitness to the next level, and I know in order to do that, I must make follow my purpose in all areas of my life without constraint.  Stay-tuned!  My life is about to change as I strive to live my whole life with the conviction of my purpose which I hold so dear to my heart.

How about you?  What is your purpose?  Is there something holding you back?  How will you persevere?

Leave a Reply

